YOUNG CHAMPIONS’ SUMMIT : THE FINAL DECLARATION OF ABIDJAN, NOVEMBER 2018

YOUNG CHAMPIONS’ SUMMIT : THE FINAL DECLARATION OF ABIDJAN, NOVEMBER 2018

We, Young Champions, gathered in Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire) from November 15 to 17, 2018, as part of our annual Summit, at the American Space with the participation of National and International Institutions with the support of the State of Côte d’Ivoire and the United States Embassy in Côte d’Ivoire, renew our commitment to Peace, Security and Sustainable Development for all present and fthe forthcoming human beings.

This unique event saw the presence and contribution of one hundred and thirty-two (132) participants, from twelve (12) countries and three (3) continents. The Young Champions Summit has been an important moment in building and strengthening stakeholder coalitions on topical issues such as Corruption, Climate Change, Deforestation, Poverty Alleviation, Women’s Empowerment, violence Extremism and terrorism and it is a great satisfaction to have demonstrated the collective capacity of non-state actors, in their diversity, to exchange, forge joint responses and express themselves together. This Summit represented a moment of intense work, with four-hour internships in seven (07) institutions, five (05) expert panels and two (02) rendition panels, and resulted in a joint and agreed statement. The results of these three (03) meeting days are gathered in this document and available on the internet (www.planetepaix.org) :

– The Youth Champions Summit Declaration focused on the importance of a participatory, inclusive and concerted approach to the fighting against corruption, climate change, deforestation, poverty alleviation, women’s empowerment, violent extremism and terrorism and on the inseparable link with the stakes of development,

– the strong commitments of the participants

– the precise proposals, nourished by the experience of actions in the field, on the main themes mentioned above. Through the dissemination of these elements we hope that other partners join the platform and adhere to the Declaration of the Young Champions Summit.

We commit ourselves to strengthen our platform to mobilize the actors, promote the sharing of information, pool experiences and promote peace, security and sustainable development.

In addition, we confirm that the follow-up of the Young Champions Summit is essential and urge the organizers to facilitate the following steps, including the promotion of the 2018 Abidjan Declaration, to publish and disseminate widely the proceedings of the International Summit, and to ensure the continuation of the discussions as well as the examination of the concrete measures taken during the exchanges for the promotion of Peace, Security and Sustainable Development.

Finally, we call on African states to put in place :

1- The social, cultural, economic and environmental impact fund that will be dedicated to Civil Society Organizations that truly impact the continent through concrete actions in their countries or across the continent. This fund will be financed by the African States and handed over to the African Union for this purpose.

2- A special fund for women, girls and children dedicated to women’s organizations, women, girls with few resources. This fund will be financed by African states as well and handed over to the African Union for this purpose.

 We express the wish, with all the participants, to make the momentum alive, to strengthen the commitments, and to transform the Summit proposals into progress at the next Summit in Benin. With all the Young Champions, we remain very committed to the success of the November 2019 Summit and work to make it a success, but above all, after this meeting time, all those who have the capacity to act, should reinforce their interventions.

In 2019, we will report on progress made in implementing this joint declaration on peace, security and sustainable development.

The resolution of all these topical issues requires the firm commitment of each, the cooperation beyond the particular interests. This is the strong message of the Summit, and again, we want to express to all of you a big thank you for their participation and contribution.


Download the English version of the Report
Download the French version of the Report

SOMMET DES JEUNES CHAMPIONS : LA DÉCLARATION FINALE D’ABIDJAN, NOVEMBRE 2018

SOMMET DES JEUNES CHAMPIONS : LA DÉCLARATION FINALE D’ABIDJAN, NOVEMBRE 2018

Nous, Jeunes Champions, rĂ©unis Ă  Abidjan (CĂ´te d’Ivoire) du 15 au 17 Novembre 2018, dans le cadre de notre Sommet annuel, Ă  l’American Space avec la participation des Institutions nationales et Internationales avec l’appui de l’Etat de CĂ´te d’Ivoire et de l’Ambassade des Etats Unis en CĂ´te d’Ivoire, renouvelons notre engagement en faveur de la Paix, de la SĂ©curitĂ© et du DĂ©veloppement Durable pour tous les humains prĂ©sents et Ă  venir.   

Cet Ă©vĂ©nement unique, a connu la prĂ©sence et la contribution de cent trente-deux (132) participants(es), issues de douze (12) pays et de trois (3) continents. Le Sommet des Jeunes Champions s’est inscrit comme un moment important dans la construction et le renforcement de coalitions d’acteurs sur les grandes questions d’actualitĂ© comme Corruption, Migration Climatique, DĂ©forestation, Lutte contre la pauvretĂ©, Autonomisation de la femme, ExtrĂ©misme violent et le terrorisme et, c’est une grande satisfaction d’avoir dĂ©montrĂ© cette capacitĂ© collective des acteurs non-Ă©tatiques, dans leur diversitĂ©, Ă  Ă©changer, forger des rĂ©ponses communes et s’exprimer ensemble. Ce Sommet a reprĂ©sentĂ© un moment de travail approfondi, avec des stages de 4 heures dans sept (07)  Institutions, cinq (05)  panels d’expert et deux (02)  panels de restitutions, et a dĂ©bouchĂ© sur une DĂ©claration commune et concertĂ©e. Les rĂ©sultats de ces trois (03) jours de rencontre sont rassemblĂ©s dans ce document et disponibles sur internet (www.planetepaix.org ) :

– la DĂ©claration du Sommet des Jeunes Champions a portĂ© sur l’importance d’une approche participative, inclusive et concertĂ©e de la lutte contre Corruption, Migration Climatique, DĂ©forestation, Lutte contre la pauvretĂ©, Autonomisation de la femme, ExtrĂ©misme violent et le Terrorisme et sur le lien indissociable avec les enjeux de dĂ©veloppement,

– les engagements forts des participants

– les propositions prĂ©cises, nourries de l’expĂ©rience d’actions de terrain, sur les grands thèmes susmentionnĂ©s. Par la diffusion de ces Ă©lĂ©ments nous espĂ©rons que d’autres partenaires rejoignent la plateforme et adhèrent Ă  la DĂ©claration du Sommet des Jeunes Champions.

Nous nous engageons à renforcer notre plateforme pour mobiliser les acteurs, favoriser le partage de l’information, mutualiser les expériences et promouvoir la Paix, la sécurité et le Développement Durable.

En outre, nous confirmons que le suivi du Sommet des Jeunes Champions est essentiel et demandons instamment aux organisateurs de faciliter les étapes suivantes, y compris la promotion de la Déclaration d’Abidjan 2018, de publier et de diffuser largement les actes du Sommet International, et d’assurer la poursuite des discussions de même que l’examen des mesures concrètes prises au cours des échanges pour la promotion de la Paix, la Sécurité et le Développement Durable.

Nous appelons enfin, les Etats Africains Ă  Mettre en place :

1- Le fonds d’impact social, culturel, Ă©conomique et environnemental qui sera dĂ©diĂ© aux Organisations de la SociĂ©tĂ© Civile qui impactent vĂ©ritablement le continent Ă  travers des actions concrètes dans leurs pays ou Ă  travers le continent. Ce fonds sera financĂ© par les Etats africains et remis Ă  l’union africaine Ă  cet effet.

2- Un fonds spĂ©cial pour la femme, la jeune fille et l’enfant dĂ©diĂ© aux organisations de femme, les femmes, les jeunes filles disposant de peu de ressources. Ce fonds sera financĂ© par les Etats africains Ă©galement et remis Ă  l’union africaine Ă  cet effet.

 Nous formulons le vĹ“u, avec l’ensemble des participants (es), de faire vivre la dynamique crĂ©Ă©e, de renforcer les engagements, et de transformer les propositions du Sommet en avancĂ©es lors du prochain Sommet au BĂ©nin. Avec tous les Jeunes Champions, nous restons très engagĂ©s pour la rĂ©ussite du Sommet de Novembre 2019 et Ĺ“uvrons pour qu’il soit un succès, mais surtout, qu’après ce moment de rencontre, tous ceux qui ont capacitĂ© Ă  agir, renforcent encore leurs interventions.

En 2019, nous présenterons un rapport sur les progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre de cette déclaration commune sur la Paix, la Sécurité et le Développement Durable.

La résolution de toutes ces questions d’actualité nécessite l’engagement résolu de chacun, la coopération au-delà des intérêts particuliers. C’est le message fort du Sommet, et encore une fois, nous voulons exprimer à toutes et à tous un grand merci pour leur participation et contribution.

 


Télécharger la version anglaise du Rapport de Novembre 2019 ici
Download the English version of the November 2019 Report here

Télécharger la version anglaise du Rapport

Télécharger la version Française du Rapport